Monday, January 18, 2016

Sunday, January 17, 2016

Last night/early this morning, I drove myself to the Summerlin Hospital Labor and Delivery to make sure that baby Dean is ok. On Friday, I felt like I might be leaking amniotic fluid, but it wasn't constant so I didn't do anything about it. Saturday I felt a little, but again not constant or alot like with Kent, so I didn't go get checked. I did call the doctor office and the nurse paged the doctor on call (twice-and he never responded either time), so Trent and I just prayed that baby was ok and that we would be directed regarding what to do....and then went to bed. At 3:30am I woke up very suddenly with a weird dream. After trying to go back to sleep, I quietly asked if I should go to the hospital to have them check. When I couldn't rouse baby Dean to make any movements, I finally decided to be sure that he was ok and go to the hospital. Leaking amniotic fluid, as important to know if that's the true case or not, having a non-responsive baby fetal movements worried me most. So I got dressed, woke Trent up at 3:45am and told him that I was driving myself to the hospital to get checked out and I would call him if anything happened.

Had to park at the ER entrance since that's the only door that's open. Go to 2nd floor, tell the nurses what's going on and receive direction on where to change and leave a urine sample to be tested. Got hooked up to monitors and the moment I heard the baby's strong heartbeat via the monitor, my own heart slowed and I was calmed. Now, at least, whatever came next...whether it is or isn't amniotic fluid...I didn't care. Baby was ok. If it is amniotic fluid, I have to deliver the baby within 24 hours to avoid bacteria getting into the sac and causing infection for baby. Nurse said she wanted to test urine first and then would do the amniotic fluid test. She came back and said that I must drink alot of water because my sample was perfect. Well, Trent and Brenden don't call me a camel for no reason..... :)

We did the amniotic fluid test and it came out negative. I was very relieved as baby Dean would be too early as of yet. I'd like his lungs to develop further before he breathes this outside air. I finished my pre-registration paperwork for when I do deliver the baby and the nurse still hadn't come back in as she said she would to unhook me from all the monitors, so I unhooked myself, wiped off that gooey jelly from my belly, got dressed and walked out to the front desk. She had to print my discharge papers still, so I waited for that, signed that I was "ambulating" myself home, and 2 hours later, I crawled back into bed.

Trent woke up at around 7 and asked if everything was ok, I told him yes. He asked if I had called him, I said no, baby is ok so there was no need to wake you up. He got all the kids ready for Church...including fixing them eggs and toast and printing off his lesson for Young Men.

I was just happy for the rest of the day that baby is ok and thankfully, baby Dean was kicking and a whole lot more lively as well....I sure like to feel him inside. Healthy baby=happy momma.

No comments:

Post a Comment